Two Pyrex DishesA vintage lover on a budget can be challenged these days what with the pattern of finding the same 5 chain stores in every city.  Unless you can afford to shop in a local boutique (which I generally can’t), it can be hard to find unique treasures without spending a small fortune.

Enter, garage sales and auctions.

My fellow treasure hunter husband, M,  and I  love the country sales and church sales the best.   We’ve found the nicest people, the most unique stuff and the biggest bargains at these sales.  And, there’s usually great PIE, too. 

I mean what’s a Saturday morning without pie?!

Recently, we imitated the Clampetts by strapping a porch swing found at a church yard sale to the roof of our car and driving home with it.  It now sits serenely and Walton-like (thanks to some Macgyvering by M), suspended from our porch rafters.  It makes me want to sip lemonade in a voopy dress, just looking at it.

A few weeks ago, we found some Pyrex in amazing condition.  I love the images of 50s casseroles it conjures up and it also reminds me of my grandmother’s tiny kitchen and post-war house.   A cute little red dish and a cheery yellow casserole complete with lid were purchased for–and this is why I love country yard sales–a grand total of 75 cents.

Add a little pie into the experience and it’s my definition of a perfect day.

