Texaco close upYou never know what you will happen when you’re on a road trip from Ontario to Tennessee, with a girlfriend.

The plan was to drive over hill and dale (and try not to eat everything we’d purchased at a wonderful/alarming place called The Cheese Barn before we got to our destination) to see the magnificent rhododendrons in bloom in the Smoky Mountains.

Instead, I fell in love with a Texaco.

I didn’t expect it, but we stumbled upon it in a little town called Lebanon, OH.  If you haven’t been there, I recommend their historic downtown.  Very vintage-y vibe with lots of place to spend any cash that happens to be burning in your pocket (see how vintage I am?  I still use real money!)

But, I was too busy swooning to spend much cash.   Like, a Harry Connick sort of vintage-y swoon.  Yep, busy, swooning over my Texaco.

It was beautiful, with its white brick facade and original porcelain red lettering.  It was a perfect match for the fleet of vintage vehicles bouncing around inside my head.

And did I mention, it was available?   Currently a swingin’ single building, just waiting for me to sweep it off its feet!

Be still my beating heart.  I’ve always dreamed of living in a place called Lebanon in a Texaco station.

Okay, maybe not.  But it seemed like a great idea that day.

All it needed was a vintage soda shop next door and I would have been all set.

Vintage Texaco station, Lebanon OH

Vintage Texaco station, Lebanon OH

 

