You are reading a post from Christine Fader’s “A Vintage Life” blog.  Join the romance with all things retro at https://avintagelife.wordpress.com

If you know me or read this blog, you know I love my vintage vehicles but you might not know that:

a) daisies are my favourite flower and

b) as of November 24, 2012 my vintage vehicle collection stood at:

-1973 Volkswagen Super BeetleDaizybug at the end of a rainbow

– 1974 Boler travel trailer.

I drove my beetle, every day from May until October each year wearing a smile so big that my cheeks hurt.

Why the geeky glee?

I’ve been a fainter since age 18 and had my driver’s license revoked, um, a lot.  And you thought all my talk of swooning was just a mere vintage-y expression!

I was finally successfully treated 9 years ago and shortly thereafter, my husband found a yellow-and-white beetle and insisted that she was meant to be mine.  Often with tears in my eyes and a perhaps cheesy but ever so grateful swelling of my heart, Daizybug (her name seemed obvious) and I spent 9 happy summers together.

That is, until we had a little disaster on November 25.

Our workshop building–the building Daizybug slept in over the winter–burned down.  Luckily, the building was some distance from our house, there was no one inside, the wind was calm that day so our forest didn’t catch fire, no one was hurt, and it was just STUFF that was lost.   Yes, all those people who reminded me of those things were absolutely right.  There were lots of blessings for which to be thankful.

But sometimes, STUFF, even though it’s stuff, is very precious.   My Daizybug was dead and many, many tears ensued.

“But, it’s just a car”, you might be saying.

I know, I know.  Tell that to my heart.  It’s been very uncooperative in understanding that sensible fact.

Lots of soggy days and nights followed.   Everywhere I turned, there was Daizybug — yellow beetle cupcake holders in the baking cupboard; a planter painted like Daizybug; pictures in frames; handmade Daizybug jewellery crafted by my husband; Daizybug screen saver.  I had Daizy moments while driving (or hearing a certain song) and nightmares about her going to the dreaded crusher at the junkyard.

Soggy, soggy days and nights.

Lots of cute beetles are on the market and I had a small amount of insurance money with which to shop.  But, I just couldn’t find it in my heart to buy a Beetle.  In between bouts of soggy-ness, my husband reminded me (sometimes with tears in his own eyes), that even though we could never replace Daizybug, it would be nice to have someone to spend the first day of summer driving with, when it arrived.

On Saturday, we came home with a new friend.  And, even though there’s nothing like first car love…and I had a doozy in Daizy, this feels like the beginning of something different, of course, but just as strong.

fiat 500-ape 50- coriasco garage 121It’s a 1970 Fiat 500.  If it looks familiar, it might be because you remember Luigi from the movie Cars.  You may have also seen their new counterparts tootling around since they were re-designed and launched in the marketplace in the past couple of years.  The new ones are cute.

The originals are positively adorable.

This car has no radio or seatbelts (yet).  You have to start it using a choke and a starter lever.  There’s no synchro-meshing in the gears (meaning double clutching is required every time you accelerate or de-celerate).   It has a 2 cylinder, 499cc engine which, if you are not up on car vernacular, means it has (far) less power than the smallest modern-day motorcycle.

And I love it.

Of course, Daizybug will never be replaced or forgotten.  But every time I peek through the windows into our garage, I feel familiar tears in my eyes and a perhaps cheesy but ever so grateful swelling of my heart.

