In our household, we often joke that we have a role reversal going. Case in point:  I spent one sunny, Saturday afternoon rummaging through a junkyard with my friend, Trevor.

When I returned home, dusty, with a heart and camera full of rusty, tree-entwined vintage vehicles, the glorious smell of baking bread wafted out to greet me…as did my amused husband who had been home slaving over a hot oven all day.   If that doesn’t describe a perfect day, then I don’t know what does.

My husband drew the line at wearing one of my fun, vintage aprons though.

I find them in second-hand stores or at yard sales and often, can’t bear to leave them behind.  They’re usually homemade (and for much tinier waists than I possess) with kitschy vintage touches like rick-rack, scalloped edges and even, smocking.   They evoke a time of beautiful, rounded fridges (not a fingerprinted, stainless steel front in sight), one grainy TV channel and the advent of margarine, pastel-coloured marshmallow “salads” and other foods not found in nature.

apron I’m happy to don one of these sartorial time machines and spend an afternoon baking another vintage-turned-fashionable treat:  cupcakes.  I find them manageable, for one who sometimes needs a life preserver when wading into the stew that is cooking and baking.

I stumble through the measuring and mixing, put up with the plopping into pans and baking parts…all so I can get to the hypnotic peace of using a pastry bag to pipe icing on their little, rounded tops.

It’s like Thai Chi, piping is.   Seriously.  You should try it.

I believe it’s how those women-of-a-certain-era  managed to welcome everyone home in Leave it to Beaver fashion day after day, even when life in bouffants and polyester chafed.

Piping icing:  it’s probably why they didn’t need yoga.

Even though I may look like the picture of vintage domesticity, working in my kitchen, apron apparently tied to the stove, I know the truth:  my modern vintage life is about zen-cupcake-making and a partner who loves bread baking and future junkyards to explore.

Now, if I could just get my hands on one of those great vintage-inspired fridges!

