I just accomplished the Nearly Impossible.

We recently had to buy a new computer–at the kind of great expense that I hate spending on stuff like that–because why would you spend big money on a computer when you could, for roughly the same price, score yourself a vintage Vespa scooter (tra-la-la)?

Anyway, Practical Man doesn’t seem to mind the whole big money spending on boring stuff like computers because

  1. for some reason, he seems to think they’re just as fun as a vintage Vespa.  Um, no.
  2. he wouldn’t be caught dead on a vintage Vespa (it’s bad enough he has to drive a Fiat 500 occasionally) and
  3. he love, love, loves the whole research-and-read-consumer-reports thing that he gets to do before he buys a big money item.  Those pesky “compare and contrast” essays I used to have to do in A-level English?   I bet he would have loved those.  Practical Man is a born comparer and contraster.

So, after he read all the consumer reports and debated the merits of the new operating system versus the older, new operating system that everybody hates; and the really expensive manufacturer that everyone loves (and some mock) but would mean we’d have to convert everything we own; and this graphic card versus that graphic card; and this many giga-bytes versus that many tera-bytes; and he had oogled and jiggled computers all over town, we bought one.

A new computer, that is.  Not a vintage Vespa.

Imagine my disappointment.

Today, I opened my writing folder for the first time on the new system (which is not even called a “laptop” anymore because apparently that name potentially leads to burned thighs and not from the sunburn you got while riding on the Amalfi coast for hours and hours on your vintage Vespa) and realized that many of my projects were written using a software that you pay for and then download from online.

Uh, oh, I thought.

Online!!

That sinking feeling in my stomach was because for middle of ages people like me, “online!” meant that there were no disks to help me re-load the software on our shiny new computer.

Okay, I know they’re called CDs now.

Or DVDs.

Whatever.

It’s not a vintage Vespa so I can’t be bothered to pay attention.

Anyway, since I had no thinga-ma-bobs to re-load the software on the new system, I had to get Practical Man’s flash drive (or as he calls it, the “key fob”), open it and wander into the recesses of his brain.  Because, that’s what it’s like going into his flash drive.  It has folders and stuff that mean absolutely nothing to me, whatsoever.

It looks as if he used English to name the folders and yet…I am completely…can’t…what…?

It’s sort of like that time I tried to fold kirigami trees, only more difficult.

I was looking for his passwords file, in hopes that he would have recorded the magic numbers I needed to re-download Scrivener.  Because, being Practical Man, he does things like that.  He keeps the receipts for the thinga-ma-bob we bought in 1999 just in case we might need it so I was fairly confident that he would have recorded the registration number on his “key fob” that I needed to re-download the program that wasn’t on a disk (because it’s no longer 1987).

But, being all Secret Agent-y as he is, the passwords file is in a sub directory and he doesn’t label the sub directories anything that mean anything to me (although I was intrigued by the folder marked “Minion”) and of course, even if you can manage to get down in the recesses of his brain, the passwords file is not in a file called “passwords”.  Because otherwise, when the evil, super villan breaks into our house, goes through our closet and finds the key fob/flash drive in the pocket of Practical Man’s jeans, he could, MWAH-HA-HA get easy access to all our passwords!

I know.  It does make sense.  I just like to mock Practical Man sometimes.

It’s an old married couple thing.   Kind of like flossing our teeth in front of each other.

(Our dental hygienist is very proud).

Anyway, today, I successfully THOUGHT LIKE A PRACTICAL MAN (no easy feat, lemme tell ya) and four or five hours later, figured out which file the passwords were hidden in.

Of course, it was encrypted with a password.

The password file had a password.

Again.  Very sensible.

Sigh.

After all that, the super secret Scrivener registration code wasn’t even there.

Turns out, I had saved it somewhere else.

I should have bought a vintage Vespa.

Copyright Christine Fader, 2015.  Did you enjoy this post from A Vintage Life?    Share on Facebook       Tweet

