Life has been fairly crummy lately.

As in, there seem to be crumbs everywhere I look.

1950s woman dusting

[Photo credit: Pure Style Home]

We do not discriminate in this house when it comes to crumbs.  We’ve got your garden variety bread crumbs as well as an impressive variety of Microscopic bits of Unidentified Food Objects.  They’re M-UFOs and I believe in them because it’s a regular Area 51 around here on the floors, counters and stove top.

I’m in the middle of ages now on top of having worn glasses since age seven, so my vision in any direction, let alone All The Way Down to the floor, is probably not great.  But, my toes are excellent crumb finders.

So are visitors, like my mother or grandmother.

And, it’s that time of year when we are tracking the outside crumbs, inside.  There are bits of lawn, twigs, and ants that get carried in on our shoes and clothes, even though one of us rarely ventures out into The Nature.  Somehow, none of the inside crumbs get tracked outside, which seems unfair.  What’s a few crumbs in a lawn or forest?  Surely The Nature wouldn’t mind absorbing some of the mess.

Even when we think the house is clean, we seem to find bits of plastic, tomato cores, elastic bands, earring backings, pretzel bits (very sharp) and blobs of chocolate (I have no idea where those come from).

Then, there are the fancy bread crumbs–the ones from Practical Man’s bread.  They always make my heart stop in case they are not crumbs but have, in fact, been left by a mouse.

Not to make the sesame seed industry mad, but they sort of look similar.

Black sesame seeds that look like mouse poo–and make my heart stop–are risky.  Crumbs are a health risk around these parts, little did you know. because my body tends to think it needs to get woozy and keel over, anytime there’s even a slight whiff of adrenaline floating through my blood stream.  And, fainting in a pile of crumbs while a mouse navigates triumphantly around my prone body, nibbling on the spoils, doesn’t sound like a fun day to me.

Rather crummy, in fact.  Ha-ha!

Turns out that the exotic crumbs are just garden-variety toasted sesame seed crumbs.  But, living in the middle of The Nature, as we do, we are always on the offensive, even with over a decade of mouse-free, country living.  Practical Man has a rule:  if critters don’t chip in on the mortgage, they’re not allowed in the house.  He’s like Gibbs in NCIS, with his rules.

I’m not really afraid of mice, though.  Now, if a cow tried to break in, whoa Nellie, I’d be screaming and hanging from the chandelier (I’m sure I’d find crumbs up there, too.)  And, all those people who have mocked me for being afraid of cows would be sorry, lemme tell ya.  They’d be talking about The Great Cow Attack of 2015 for years to come and apologizing for ever doubting me, don’t you worry.

We do clean up after ourselves, honestly, but the crumbs seem to multiply overnight.  I swear, there are crumb fairies throwing parties (and crumbs) all over the place while we’re sleeping because seriously, we wiped off that counter top before we went to bed.  The unidentified goo that has stuck to the moulding on the cupboard doors?  And, what is that tomato sauce blob doing on the ceiling?  It’s gotta be someone else’s fault.  I mean, I’m hardly flinging peanut butter around the kitchen when I make toast, now am I?

Don’t answer that.

These are the times I wish we had children.

Or a pet.

I mean, that’s one of the great joys of children and animals, isn’t it?  They give you someone to blame things on.

Like, why is there a cocoa powder trail from the baking cupboard to the couch?

Surely, it’s little Beverly’s fault.

My kingdom for a little Beverly!

Practical Man has a bevy of tools to deal with crumb invasions.  He’s got sweeping tools and dusting tools, mopping tools and wiping tools.   Maybe I don’t know how to use them properly.   My irregular attempts at crumb removal only seem to spread them around in a broader, finer layer.

Ashes to ashes, crumbs to dust.

Sometimes, we briefly delude ourselves that we are getting a handle on the crumb situation.  That all the sweeping and dusting, mopping and wiping is making headway on the invasion.  Surely, all our efforts must be worth something, aren’t they?

Last night, I found crumbs in my bra.

That is to say:  there were M-UFOs in my Area 51.

Sigh.

Copyright Christine Fader, 2015.  Did you enjoy this post from A Vintage Life?    Share on Facebook       Tweet

 

