Last night at the Hallowe’en dance, I won the prize for Most Original Costume.

jellyfish

In other words:  the costume that looked homemade, had built-in lighting, and seemed as if it needed its own time zone.

Wearing a jellyfish body on your head covers lots of square footage, little did you know.  Also, drunk people sometimes think you’re dressed up as a lamp.

It made me realize what it must be like to be pregnant.

Or a bride with a giant dress.

First of all, there was the bride-with-a-giant-dress challenge of fitting a giant jellyfish head into a bathroom stall.

Jellyfish do a lot of giggling, when they pee.

Unfortunately, jellyfish don’t have bridesmaids to help out with logistics (although a very friendly dominatrix offered her help).

Then, there was the I-must-be-very-pregnant way people engaged with the costume.

That is to say, the jellyfish costume seemed to imply that strangers could get closer than is normally comfortable to me.  There were quite a number of people–pumpkins, the Sith, hippies, and tacky tourists–trying to join me under my massive jellyfish time zone, in a way that was slightly disconcerting.

Hands off the tentacles, people.

No jostling the jelly.

And, please put a few more clothes on, while you’re at it.  This is the jellyfish timezone, not stripper camp.

My jellyfish costume is kind of a (okay, grade 3) work of art as result of Practical Man and I spending more time than adults probably should on something like a jellyfish costume, but this is what happens when you have no kids and like to pretend you’re still 4, like I do, or you’re Practical Man and live with someone who likes to pretend they’re still 4, like his wife does.

Oh sure, I’m not really 4, but how can you not love Hallowe’en?

  • it’s got chocolate
  • it’s got dressing up in fun costumes
  • it’s got making stuff so you can dress up in a fun costume because buying a costume is just plain no fun at all (at least, for those of us who like to pretend we’re still 4)
  • it’s got twirling, if you play your cards right or plan ahead and have a floaty jellyfish costume that is perfect for twirling
  • it’s got prizes for best costumes (more chocolate!)
  • even if you don’t win, there’s chocolate.

Hallowe’en is just awesome.  Of course, I live in the country and no children ever come to our house, no matter how much we leave a trail of candy up the driveway or decorate the house (sniff!) but that doesn’t stop me from trying to buy goodies to hand out to the non-existent children or planning what I’ll wear.

Then, I  seek out every Hallow’s Eve dancing event I can possibly get myself invited to.  Often, it’s at the local village Legion which is fun because they always have a midnight buffet (with cake!) and everyone dances with everyone, which is like it was when I was a teenager in Germany so I get to simultaneously pretend I am 4 and 15 and what could be better than that?

The band is sometimes a bit painful but, really when it comes to dancing, as long as I can squint and recognize the tune, I’m in.  I’m almost positive that last one was Time Warp.  Or maybe, Werewolves of London.

Tra-la-la.

When he picked me up this morning, Practical Man had a great idea for my next costume.

Noooo, I can’t tell you what it is!  This is top-secret, super classified stuff.

All I can tell you is that next Hallowe’en:

  • there will be chocolate
  • there will be dressing up in fun costumes
  • there will be making stuff so you can dress up in a fun costume because buying a costume is just plain no fun at all (at least, for those of us who like to pretend we’re still 4)
  • there will be twirling, if you play your cards right or plan ahead and have a costume that is perfect for twirling
  • there will be prizes for best costumes (more chocolate!)
  • and, even if you don’t win, there will be chocolate.

Hallowe’en is just awesome.

glowing in the dark

Copyright Christine Fader, 2015.  Did you enjoy this post from A Vintage Life?    Share on Facebook       Tweet

 

 

 

